Iowa Department of Education


Iowa Early Learning Standards

For children ages birth through five years.

Iowa Quality Preschool Program Standards (IQPPS)

Designed to be used with programs having funding linked to the Iowa Department of Education including those operated by local school districts.

Iowa Quality Rating System (IQRS)

A voluntary child care rating system for child development homes, licensed child care centers and preschools, and Child care programs that are operated by school districts.

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

Each standard describes an essential element that together with the other nine standards provide a definition of quality for child care, preschools, and kindergarten program.

Iowa Association for the Education of Young Children (IAAEYC)


Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning